How to Die Consciously

My latest ebook, “How to Die Consciously: Secrets from Beyond the Veil,” is the result of a series of books and I hope the last of them. One can only rewrite so many times!

I originally wrote and self-published it as “Through the Tunnel: A Traveler’s Guide to Spiritual Rebirth” in 1992 which is now out-of-print. I wrote it during a time I was studying about the Greater Mystery Schools and eastern religions, (Greco-Roman, Egyptian, Masonry, Rosicrucian, Hermetic, Theosophy, Tibetan, Buddhist, Confucius, Hinduism) which were built on esoteric truths of the ancient past… that which was concealed from the average man and  provided insight into nature, the physical universe and the spiritual realm. Similarly, Jesus spoke in parables for the average man and only shared the deeper secrets with his disciples. Although I tried to tone it down, it was still very esoteric. Even as I was writing it, I knew I would have to rewrite it some day in more modern terms. Nevertheless, I sold or gave away most of the 5,000 copies I ordered.

In 2007, I began putting together a course to train people to be Transition Guide Trainers. I’d been a hospice volunteer for a number of years and felt something was missing from just being there medically and spiritually for people at the end of their lives. I had been taking care of my mother during her last years and got first-hand experience being a 24-7 caregiver. While I was working on my web site, she became interested in what I was doing but was rigidly ensconced in her Christian Science beliefs up to the time she died unconsciously in 2006. She did say about my near-death experience that she hoped I was right but still had a hard time accepting it. However shortly before she died, she had a brief moment of lucidity and exclaimed, “Oh, no. I’ve wasted my life!” I saw her smiling happily and doing the Charleston on the other side after she crossed over!

Toward the end, while she was still able to think rationally, she and I talked quite a bit about her life, her loves, her loses. Losing her daughter, my younger sister, was a turning point for both of us. She never got over that tragedy. It was her best friend’s son (they were both 8 years old) who swung the golf club that Bobbie was standing too close to. It hit her in the temple. She stumbled from the 18th tee down to a sand trap by the green where she collapsed and never regained consciousness. Mom had no one but God to be angry at for taking her child. Her death strained my parents’ relationship and they grew apart even though they had two more children to try to make up for their loss. Then he left her to raise them alone. So she had a lot of issues to deal with that she never dealt with before and we were able to talk about some of it before she no longer could remember. Unfortunately she wasn’t able to forgive or let go of her anger and so she took it with her into the oblivion that followed a stroke from which she never recovered.

I realized this is what “dying” is all about. Letting go of anger and attachments. Forgiving others and our selves. Expressing gratitude and love. Reconciling our past. Finding peace. We get so caught up in fighting the disease or stalling the aging process, grasping at straws as if we can cheat death, throwing money at treatments that might give us a few more days or hours, than suddenly it’s too late. We have a stroke or our body dies and we didn’t get to say I love you or I forgive you or where we stashed the insurance policy.

It was at this point that I realized the extent of my mission… my reason for coming back from the peace and love in the Light. It was to reassert that we don’t die… that “life” continues after the death of the body and that we can prepare ourselves for our transition so that our soul receives the most benefit from the experience of moving into the Light. It’s not about religion or whether one believes in God or not. It just is what it is.

And so I developed a training program to teach people a method of dying consciously that anyone can integrate into their belief system at any time in their lives because the truth is, we are all going to make the trip. It doesn’t mean one has to be awake or even conscious, although to fully participate would be the ideal, but to be aware of what’s going on when our soul leaves our body as it dies and transforms into a being of light… into the essence of who we truly are.

I trained a number of people who became interested as I was developing the training course and I marketed it to hospices and death educators. Guess what? They wouldn’t touch it with a ten foot pole. They had their rules and their biases, and this was way too much over their academic heads and medical bastions.

I then focused my marketing to alternative therapists and healers such as massage therapists, yoga teachers, chiropractors, light/energy workers, ministers and more spiritually minded folks. I generated a lot of interest and developed a mailing list to which I sent a monthly newsletter… the problem was, none of these people had any money.

Now I have to say something about money. Apparently I’m not supposed to be able to charge for anything to do. People apparently think God is supposed to support me but the  big guy has apparently chosen not to because I’ve been doing this kind of work starting with my web site since 1996, that’s 16 years. People seemed to think I should give away my work and not profit from it even though it was costing me… oh, let’s be frugal and say thousands of dollars a year for internet, domains, hosting, software, printing, DVDs, etc. and then there’s my time… 12 to 14 hours a day for zip, nada, zero $. I was working ho-hum jobs, which is how I was able to get things started but the last 2 years my mother was with me I had to stop working outside because she couldn’t be left alone. Once I had to move her into a board and care home, I had ended up homeless and had to file bankruptcy. But did I stop helping people who asked for my help? No, I did not.

Sorry, had to get that off my chest… and will continue this another day.

One comment on “How to Die Consciously

  1. Pingback: March 2012 | Conscious Media Network

Leave a Reply

